October 24th 2012 – The Big Changeover by C.J. Black

This morning at 10 of the clock the T.V. screen went blank

Honestly I say to you I did not know which God to thank

The panic on the face of this person will leave an indelible print

Talk about headless chicken – but I’ll put this T.V. on a plinth

Earlier we were looking at a cupboard nearly bare

Now there she was looking at a blank screen with a forlorn stare

Next thing I knew I got the call get ready we’re going shopping

I thought I’m game for that my brow I started mopping

Thinking this inner thought at least we’ll have stew for dinner

And maybe even buy a yogurt – put aside this you must grow thinner!

So into the car and off we go I said and where are we going to shop

I nearly had a coronary when she said; make the electrical shop, first stop

I said but what about the groceries – she said we must get a new T.V.

I had this vision of dinner being a non runner – so I said what about me

We can’t exist with out making sure we have our priorities in the right order

I thought to my-self well I’ve heard it all now until she mentioned combi-box and recorder

No matter what argument I put up this T.V. purchase was first on the agenda

Or the position I found my-self in could only be remedied by referenda

So as I was never going to win this T.V. debate

We made our purchase so the world was now in a calmer state

And I got my T.V. dinner and another item for my Blog

So it’s now time to sit with glass in hand and cheer the demise of analogue.

C.J. Black

24th October 2012

Leave a comment

