I’m Eighty Now. C.J. Black.

When I tell you that tonight I feel incredibly cold

Please don’t tell me that is because I’m growing rather old

Instead why not hug me like you did all those years ago?

When we were young and not afraid to let our feelings show

Do you remember when we first met it must be fifty years

How we’d hug and kiss and cuddle up we hadn’t any fears

Now here we are together but feeling all alone

The family all reared, from the nest they now have flown

They are scattered across the globe with families of their own

My wish for them is that their siblings remember them when they are grown.

When I tell you that I feel incredibly cold

Why not hug me like you did all those years ago?

 

C.J. Black

One thought on “I’m Eighty Now. C.J. Black.

Leave a comment

