Willie the Sage. C.J. Black.

 

Each time I remove the top off my pen

The echo goes up – here he goes again

Out from the nib multiple words flow

Down on paper they must go

Sometimes these lines I can’t get to rhyme

But eventually they will, given time

I tried one time to write a book

I tell you the truth when I say I had no luck

When I’d sit down at my desk my mind would roam

All I’d end up with would be a poem

But all things considered it could be worse

Once I can continue to write a verse

I’m writing this while I’m in the mood

For in my head there’s so much food

Tongue in cheek I was once asked –

Are you related to the sage?

From the words they found written on a page

I said – Oh come on now, look here

Do I really write or look like Shakespeare

The man who wrote about Macbeth –

And also the other fellow

That’s right, that’s him your man Othello

He also wrote about some Kings and then there was the Winters Tale

That was much Ado about Nothing

There were also the Merry Wives of Windsor who enjoyed –

A Midsummer Nights dream

Also there was the Taming of the Shrew

That is to mention but a few

There is a lot more that I could tell

But for now – Alls well that ends well.

C. J. Black

16th March 2013.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Willie the Sage. C.J. Black.

  1. Ends well, indeed 🙂

    You rhyme well, and then halfway through you cut it up, which is really interesting. It’s like changing gears roughly, and then the reader sees we’re on another course & it’s just as good.

    Like it – cheers!

    Like

      1. That’s very good news. I, on the other hand, am having a lot of trouble getting rid of the evidence. The damn stain just won’t fade. Not even a little bit.

        Like

Leave a comment

