The Inkwell is now topped up. C. J. Black

Hallelujah – It’s January 2014.

From me, myself & I
I tell you, and this is no lie
Taking a break from writing
I thought – perhaps would be inviting –
Me, to travel down another road
Where my scrambled thoughts I could unload
But quickly I realised I was on the wrong track
When I found myself in a cul-de-sac
So nothing else would suffice but to make a quick about turn
Really, it doesn’t take an old dog that long a new trick to learn
It never was about raising the white flag
And no, writing was not becoming a chore or a drag
I am the only one with a vision
Of what I wished to achieve when I made this decision
I knew it would do me the world of good
I sowed seeds that hopefully would produce poetic food
Nourishment for the mind, body and soul
Something that would germinate from nothing into a whole.
To build something worthwhile one must have a firm foundation
Making sure you give your work your fullest concentration
I trust that I’ve done just that so I’ll crank it into gear
Pop the corks, raise those glasses from me to you Happy New Year.

C. J. Black©β
02/01/2014 23:00:26

4 thoughts on “The Inkwell is now topped up. C. J. Black

Leave a comment

