NaPoWriMo2014 #19

Cashing in on innocence.

C. J. Black

Immediately, following the phone call
I went directly to the hole in the wall (ATM)
The garbled message talked about Jail
The money required was to go her bail.

She was just an acquaintance, a friend of a friend
The request was so heartfelt how could I refuse or suspend
I carried out their bidding being one of courtesy
Little did I know this was done in a fit of jealousy?

Too late I realised, I was involved in serious crime
They planned to escape the jurisdiction, or ever do the time
I was the gullible one caught in this smash and grab
A misfortunate innocent I was left holding the tab.

C. J. Black©β

Leave a comment

