NaPoWriMo2014 #22

A thorny subject?
C. J. Black.

I just wish I had the word power
To write a poem about a flower
Then there is no doubt but I could compose
A poem in honour of the rose.

I broached this thorny subject at a gardener’s convention
Illustrating to them what was my intention
They dutifully informed me that, in doing so there would be nothing new
That my composition would just be a rose poem of a different hue.

I bowed to their greater knowledge after all they were my elders
Doing otherwise I believed would just be ruffling feathers
On that note I do believe it is time for me to close –
With the proviso that one day a rose poem I will compose.

C. J. Black©β

2 thoughts on “NaPoWriMo2014 #22

Leave a comment

