Word Drought??

C. J. Black
Writing 101, Day Twenty: The things we treasure??
For our final Assignment, tell the tale of your most prized possession. If you’re up for a twist, go long –
Experiment with long form and push yourself to write more than usual.
(I am not one for prized possessions/Family heirlooms/walking through flea markets in search of ‘valuables’
Or childhood mementos – ‘too long ago’)

I’m sitting here at my writing desk scratching my head for ’le mot juste’ to kick off my last post – suddenly ‘light bulb time’ – the word ‘exhilaration’ springs to mind – you know that feeling? I’ve achieved something, a month ago I did not think possible, thanks to all associated with Writing 101 ‘The Assignment’
A word of thanks is also due to all BLOGGERS who assisted in helping me push the boat out just that little bit further.
Not being a hoarder Per Se or a collector of artefacts, leaving aside my mini library and prized record collection, I rummaged through, for want of a better choice of words – my back catalogue.
I thought, in my wisdom that marrying these two pieces together would be an appropriate way for me to sign off – some might think that it is taking the easy way out – cheating a little maybe?
But that is ok too – we all have the right to an opinion – is that not what makes the world go around?
So this is it friends, if our paths don’t happen to cross again, it was great to have your company throughout the month of June 2014.
I’m plum out of ideas as to what to write about
You might say I am suffering from the thing they call word drought
Honestly I can’t think of a single thing to say
I’m felling proper ghastly, like I’m beginning to decay
How am I supposed to write when no ideas come?
I guess that is akin to getting a sound from a hollow drum
But there really is no mileage in this so called self-pity
Get yourself back to the task in hand, back to the Nitty Gritty
No point in sitting around with a hang dog face
Put something down on the page – you’ll soon pick up the pace
Why not write a piece on not being able to write
Eventually you’ll appear from that darkness and you will see the light
You’ll be surprised, what persistence can achieve
You can once again raise from the ashes – once again believe
It’s not as uncommon as you may think to hit that brick wall
You will write again you know, you will answer that call.

(2)
Writing has always been an integral part of my life. Throughout my working years it was a necessity, while in later years it became a pleasure to write, in no way is it now a chore.
Hopefully to others the results of my scribbling is not a bore?
I could never class myself as a writer Per Se. I have attempted to write flash fiction pieces, short stories, I won’t say I have failed miserably, I’ll leave that for others more educated to comment on.
What I can say in truth is the feeling of relief when a piece is finished is palpable, but like the taste of a good wine, it will leave you wanting to write more, an addiction you might say.
I guess all who write have a routine they try religiously to stick with, that way the brain is primed to go to work when the switch is flicked.
In my case I find it much easier to write late at night, long hand – which I enjoy – then take to the keyboard early in the morning – which I am not wholly enamoured with – but it must be done.
As with all writers, I guess the ambition is to have a book published, some are exceptionally lucky to have numerous publications to their credit.
I would be in no way jealous of their achievements, in fact I hereby publicly congratulate them on their achievement.
It must be a wonderful feeling to know that you can make a living out of something that is a joy to wake up to each morning.
We are so lucky to be living in the era of modern technology, I dread to think of what it must have been like way back before the invention of the typewriter, pen or pencil, now we curse and swear if the printer runs out of ink!
But different horses for different courses, they knew no different back then – in years to come the possibility is, someone will devise an instrument where the writer will sit and dictate and the machine will do the typing or perhaps that idea is too far-fetched?
But they did put a man on the moon didn’t they?
Did the person who invented the wheel ever think we would get to where we are now at?
But you cannot stop progress which is a good thing I guess.
Writers of eloquence can weave a patchwork quilt of words, those who post here are no exception, and I have learned so much thanks to those who follow my simple offerings.
I dare not even attempt to mention names, but I would urge you to check out my posts – not for what I have posted, but to catch up on those who I dare not single out for fear of offending any of the subscribers.
As you have probably gathered if you have dropped by to sample my wares, I do not take easily to writing without breaking into rhyme, but this had to be said, who knows where it might lead?
But I won’t be holding my breath, so I urge you the reader not to hold yours. You could be quite purple in the face before the likes of this appears again.
Back to the simple task of writing a few lines of poetry.
Thank you again for following.
It would not be the same fun if no one came knocking on the door, to visit the poetry orchard and other musings.
C. J. Black©β
Saturday, 28 June 2014
http:www.chrisblack2012.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “Word Drought??

    1. Good afternoon Fransi, well it is that on this side of the pond, cloudless sky, manageable temperatures, Sundays are ‘rest days’ purchase a bundle of news papers and just lounge. on the issue of writer’s block – I have so many of them piled up now I could start to build an annex to store discarded thoughts, now there is a thought? Hope you are having a productive day.

      1. Well it is morning here so nothing productive yet. I have fed the cats — as if they’d give me a choice and I am about to feed myself and enjoy my Sunday ritual of reading the NY Times. Also a cloudless sky here although it is hot and humid. Summer in Toronto. But is definitely beats winter in Toronto, so I try not to bitch about it. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday!

  1. Wanting to write never leaves, does it? No matter how long I may have ignored it, it never has gone away. I’m so grateful for blogging- it gives me a means. Like your ideas;

Leave a comment

