Tracing Footsteps.

C. J. Black.
Pushing in the half door it was as though I had accidently started the old gramophone in the corner of the small hallway – the tune followed me throughout the house.
I often think of home Dee-ol-ee-ay
When I am all alone and far away;
I sing an old refrain dee-ol-ee-ay
For it recalls to me a bygone day.
The clock on the mantle showed the exact time twice daily.
Cobwebs moved gently in the breeze that passed through the place where once there were glass panes.
There were stories aplenty within the four walls of the dilapidated building.
It takes me back again to meadows fair
Where sunlight’s golden rays beam everywhere
My childhood joys again come back to me
My mother’s face in fancy too I see
The old rusted Raleigh bicycle lying against the weeping wall, tyres punctured, child’s seat on the crossbar – where are they now?
A walk through the parlour, wallpaper hanging off the walls brought me into the kitchenette, small round table, three legged stools pushed in underneath, the small open fireplace an old kettle still hanging from the crossbar.
In the only bedroom the most spacious room in the house, a single bed, two matrasses on the floor with springs protruding, one window looking onto an overgrown lawn, a wardrobe in the corner with its door hanging on just one hinge, on top could be seen two old round battered suitcases one showing a label stating cabin class while the other had the name Mary O’Hara Cobh attached.
It was my mother taught me how to sing
And to that memory my heart will cling
I’m never sad alone while on my way
As long as I can sing Dee-ol-ee-ay
On the wall hung the Sacred Heart picture its red light long extinguished.
Beneath that picture hung a family portrait and the words of THAT song –
Though years have come and gone, dee-ol-ee-ay
And though my heart is young my head is grey
Yet the echoes ring, dee-ol-ee-ay
And dear memories forever stay
This song will bring me visions full of light
And sweetest dreams throughout the darkest night
Of all that life can give, that song is best
I’ll take it with me when I go to rest
And when at last my time on earth is o’er
‘Twill ring more joyfully than e’er before
For up to heavens I will take my lay
The angels, too, will sing dee-ol-ee-ay.

C. J. Black©β
Friday, 08 August 2014
http://www.chrisblack2012.wordpress.com
Credit for the words of the song (The Old Refrain) in italics interspersed throughout this piece goes to composer Fritz Kreisler.
Born: February 2nd, 1875, Vienna, Austria.
Died: January 29th, 1962, New York City, U.S.A.
The song is from the musical “The King Steps Out” (1936)
The Mary O’Hara referred to in this piece is totally of my choosing and does not refer to any specific person living or deceased.

Leave a comment

