Cork or Screw Cap?

C. J. Black

Hic! Look at the time it’s already half past wine o’clock, time to talk some bull?
Makes little difference now whether it’s glass half empty or glass half full.

As the saying goes laugh and the world laughs with you
Cry and you cry alone
Human nature being what it is there are times when we will be blue
We can’t always be King and Queen and in charge of the throne?
For there to be Kings and Queens there must also be minnows
Giants among men and women, be they bear like or flamingos.

Looking at the world through topped up wine glasses
We sit and utter total gibberish, comment on the social classes.

Those who never partake of the juice of the grape
How do you pass your leisure time – how do you escape?

I like the occasional coffee, I’m partial to my tea
But there is only so much you can imbibe – agree or disagree?

Don’t think now I’m encouraging you to go and pop a cork
Each one to their own poison – I wouldn’t dare pass remark.

It’s coming close to the end of my Chardonnay
So I will finish off this poem as I have little more to say-
Except to thank you for your company if you have followed line by line
I’m off now to celebrate, Hic! Open another bottle of wine.

C. J. Black©β
Sunday, 10 August 2014
http://www.chrisblack2012.wordpress.com

Leave a comment

