I know my sheep and they know me.

Inspired by an old photograph.

  1. C. J. Black.

It’s not easy being old

Even on a sunny day my body feels the cold.

 

Sitting alone, longing to talk

This arthritic body to sore to walk.

 

Sitting in my favourite armchair by an empty grate

A mug of tea to dunk my biscuit in, now that would be great.

 

Rain beating against the window pane, makes an eerie sound

Fetch me my pen and paper Dear – in my head these words go around and around.

 

But I am all alone now – you’d think after all these years –

At the memory of her passing – I’d have no more salty tears.

 

Yes we were friends and lovers – 60 years we were together

We travelled many a long and winding road – it’s nearing time that I joined her.

 

The family deserted me when I became a burden

I’ll never know of their reaction when they draw that final curtain.

“Fear not for when I’m gone be ye not deterred

There will be another shepherd elected to take charge of the herd”

  1. C. J. Black©β

Monday, 27 July 2015

http://www.chrisblack2012.com

 

 

3 thoughts on “I know my sheep and they know me.

  1. A melancholy post today, so unlike you. The last few years of my mother’s life we spent a fair bit of time at hospitals. Saw so many old people alone. Very sad and depressing.

    1. I came by an photograph of an elderly man sitting in a battered old armchair beside an empty fire grate – the poem grew from there – one never knows, one never knows!

Leave a comment

