Something borrowed something blue.

A Doll called Peaches.

  1. C. J. Black.

The voice at the end of the telephone line

Faceless, continued the weeping and crying

He thought he could read me like an open book

The tremor in her voice left me totally dumbstruck.

 

I tried my utmost to calm the situation

I knew not who the caller was, nor would she reveal her location

Explaining to her that her call was not in vain

And that I would listen for as long as she wished – once it eased her pain.

 

He had beaten her to within an inch of her life she said

All was good the night before as we laid on our wedding bed

Suddenly, as though taken over by the devil

My husband turned from lover into a man of evil.

 

The more she talked the calmer she became

I told her who she was talking to, she revealed her name

An hour had passed or maybe more

When a loud banging could be heard on her bedroom door.

 

Raised voices could be heard coming down the telephone line

Recognising those voices she assured me – all now will be fine

Just then the line went dead – there was no more I could do –

Be assured, this has been a fictitious poem – not one word of it is true.

 

  1. C. J. Black©β

Wednesday, 29 July 2015

http://www.chrisblack2012.com

 

 

8 thoughts on “Something borrowed something blue.

  1. I’m awfully glad your poem is fiction, but unfortunately in real life it happens all too often. In fact I have a friend in New York who has a foundation aimed at putting an end to abuse and the deaths that often result from it. Your poem is powerful. Would you mind if I sent it to him? Who knows, he might want to put it on the Foundation’s website.

    1. I’d be honoured Fransi – thank you – it started out not to be the poem it turned out if you know what I mean – perhaps it was meant to find a home once I set it free? Thanks again. Chris.

      1. Chris, just heard back from my friend. He wants to publish it on Sunday. Thank you so much again for sharing. In case you’re interested his foundation is called Stop Abuse.

Leave a comment

