A Musical Fusion of Poetry and Song.

A Musical Fusion of Poetry and Song.

  1. C. J. Black©β

 

(Person 1) spoken word.

We painted and powdered, showered and shaved then donned our dancing duds

Headed for the jamboree, joined the Ladies and their Studs

The beer tasted like nectar, as we took to the sawdust strewn floor

The music played by the Buffalo’s got whoops, hollers and loud roars.

 

(Person 2) sings.

I was dancing with my darlin’ to the Tennessee Waltz

When an old friend I happened to see

Introduced him to my darlin’

And while they were dancing

My friend stole my sweet heart from me.

 

(Person 1) spoken word.

What was I to do, left standing all alone – hastily I headed for the horse drawn carriage

An incident such as this was not going to ruin my marriage?

Reaching for my holster – I strapped on my Colt 45

If he wasn’t going to let her go, one of us was not leaving here alive.

 

(Person 2) sings.

I remember the night of the Tennessee Waltz

Now I know just how much I have lost

Yes I lost my little darlin’

The night they were playing

The beautiful Tennessee Waltz.

 

(Person 1) spoken word.

As I came back on the dance floor I could see the white of his eyes

He stood over 6ft tall – my fear I could not disguise

I quickly drew my 6 gun – and across the floor took aim

He held his hands up in surrender and released my sweet Lorraine.

 

(Person 2) sings.

She came waltzing

Across the dance floor

To the Tennessee Waltz

And I felt I was falling apart

As she told me of her feelings – she near broke my heart

That night of the Tennessee Waltz.

 

(Person 1) spoken word.

Dreams left shattered on the sawdust covered dance floor

I replaced my 6 gun in its holster and headed for the door

A night that promised so much from its start

Ended with empty arms and a broken heart.

 

(Person2) sings.

I’ll remember that night and the Tennessee Waltz

Now I know just how much I have lost

Yes I lost my little darlin’

The night they were playing

The beautiful Tennessee Waltz.

http://www.chrisblack2012.com

Additional song words C. J. Black©β

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

