31st. August 1945. (In Song and Story)

31st August 1945. (In Song and Story)

  1. C. J. Black.

The faded dog eared calendar on the wall told its own story.

The scribbled pencil notes on the outer column.

Some dates marked with a circle or an x.

In the corner of the room stood a wooden tea chest filled with treasures from times long past.

Heart of my Heart, I love that melody

Heart of my Heart, brings back a memory

 

When we were kids on the corner of the street

We were rough and ready guys

But oh, how we could harmonise

The old Singer sewing machine with a garment still attached, left unfinished, one wonders what became of the person who was operating it at that given time?

The sense of what might have been, I sit awhile contemplating the silence.

Heart of my Heart, meant friends were dearer then

Too bad we had to part

I know a tear would glisten, if once more I could listen

To that gang who sang “Heart of my Heart”

Listening intently for ghostly noises.

Picking my way gently through the lives of those departed I venture up the creaking stairs, make as little noise as possible I tell myself.

Impossible, as the rotting wood stair steps falls to the floor below, who might I be disturbing?

 In the sunshine streaming through an uncovered window at the top of the stairs I thought, are my eyes playing tricks on me? Did I just see a form pass along the landing?

Heart of my Heart, I love that melody

Heart of my Heart, brings back a memory

 

When we were kids on the corner of the street

We were rough and ready guys

But oh, how we could harmonise

 

Heart of my Heart, meant friends were dearer then

Too bad we had to part

I know a tear would glisten, if once more I could listen

To the gang who sang “Heart of my Heart”

Sweaty palms grip the unstable bannister, I look back, and see the stairway behind me disintegrating.

Turning back, I pick my steps carefully as I descend, on reaching the last step I breathe a long sigh of relief.

Emerging out into the bright sunlight, I make myself a firm promise – next time have a really sound excuse when someone suggests that you invade the lives of those gone before you.

Allow those departed rest in peace.

  1. C. J. Black©β http://www.chrisblack2012.com

“(The gang that Sang) Heart of my Heart” is a popular song. The music and lyrics were written by Ben Ryan (1892-1968) in 1926. It reminisces about singing a song called “Heart of my Heart” in a youthful quartet. – From Wikipedia.

 

 

 

One thought on “31st. August 1945. (In Song and Story)

Leave a comment

