Aleyna Explores Wexford

VisitWexford

For two summers in a row, I found myself in County Wexford, Ireland conducting research on immigrants who migrated from Wexford to Savannah during the famine years. When I wasn’t busy pouring over shipping records and old letters in archives, I had time to explore the area and witness its rich history firsthand. My first stop was the Hook Lighthouse and Peninsula, one of the last glimpses of Ireland many Wexford migrants might have seen before heading to America. After a picnic overlooking the Celtic Sea, I braved the long climb to the top of the lighthouse. The effort was well worth it, even if my legs disagreed—from the top of the lighthouse, I was able to see the beautiful green cliffs that characterize Ireland’s coast, sparkling blue water, and two of my friends hiking down inside of the coast’s rocky crevices even though our professors had specifically told us…

View original post 467 more words

Leave a comment

