It’s all in the smile.

Others pass comment, it comes with growing old

You just smile

We sit huddled by the open fire

You look at me and smile

Talk goes back to when we were young

You smile

A tear forms then falls into your lap

still you smile

Life can be very unfair, but this affliction

Yet you smile

You didn’t deserve this cruel hand dealt to you

not bitter, you smile

Hiding my bitterness, constraining myself

I look at you and smile

Witnessing your strength my mask will never slip

We may not always have each other

I’ll always have your smile.

(c) Chris Black 2017.

Leave a comment

